• Ruth Hanusa
    Canon for Parish Life
    775-329-4279 Ext. 12

    Rev. Ruth Hanusa is our Canon for Parish Life here at Trinity Episcopal Cathedral.  She began worshipping at Trinity in Advent of 2006, and began preaching here in 2012.


    She is a native of Council Bluffs, Iowa, and except for a two-year stint in Storm Lake, Iowa, she spent her early years in Council Bluffs with her parents and four siblings.  Her family business was Hanusa Co., a “heavy” hardware, plumbing and heating store.  After high school she obtained her A.A. at St. John’s College in Winfield, Kansas, and then graduated with a B.A. in theology from Valparaiso University, Valparaiso, IN.  She got her M.Div. at Christ Seminary---Seminex, St. Louis, MO, which was a break-away school from the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod, the church body in which she grew up.  She was one of only two women in her seminary graduating class of seventy-six.  Years later, she earned a M.A. in English Literature from UNR.


    Her pastoral career has included calls as Protestant campus minister at both UNLV and UNR, and as co-pastor, associate pastor, and interim pastor at parishes too numerous to name.  She has taught community college in the Nevada prison system, served on many church boards and committees, and done “supply” preaching and presiding in Nevada, California and North Dakota.  In 2006 she became a hospice chaplain for Saint Mary’s Hospice in Reno, and since 2018 she has been the Bereavement Coordinator as well as a chaplain.


    She is more than excited to be called as a priest to serve Trinity.  She will have major responsibilities in the areas of pastoral care and education, as well as preaching and leading worship. 

  • William Stomski
    Rector and Dean of Trinity Episcopal Cathedral
    775-329-4279, Ext. 14

    The Very Rev. Dr. William L. Stomski, dean of Trinity Episcopal Cathedral, is our chief spiritual and administrative leader. “Father William” was born in Pittsfield, Massachusetts and raised in the nearby town of Lenox (Home to the Boston Symphony at “Tanglewood”). He grew up with four other siblings (three brothers and a sister) with a Lutheran and Roman Catholic religious background. Education involved an art degree from Arizona State University, Masters of Divinity from The Lutheran Theological Seminary, Gettysburg, PA., a Masters of Arts in Liturgy from the University of Notre Dame, and a Doctor of Ministry from Virginia Theological Seminary.


    Dr. Stomski served two parishes in Pennsylvania, as well as worked at the national level of the Lutheran Church in America (later the ELCA) in Philadelphia as the art director and design consultant for “Ecclesiastical Arts” Studio where custom art, liturgical vessels, furnishings, paraments, and interior renovations of worship space were designed and implemented. Prior to coming to Trinity, Father William was chaplain and sacred studies teacher with Saint Joseph’s Episcopal School in Southeast Florida, teaching two year olds through eighth graders, and a weekend priest with the parish there. With the Diocese of Southeast Florida, he was the Dean and a professor of “Homiletics” and “Pastoral Theology” with the Diocesan School for deacons and pre-seminary students. He also served on the Commission of Ministry and the Bishop’s Search Committee.


    Father William is an accomplished watercolorist, enjoys creative projects, reading, cooking, and travel. He and his husband, Ernie Westbrook, have been together for twenty years; their marriage was in Washington, D.C.; their “Blessing Ceremony” was performed by Bishop Leo Frade, now retired Bishop of Southeast Florida, at the 16th Century monastery, St. Bernard de Clairveaux in northern Miami.


    Presently Father William is a board member of the Interfaith Clergy Association, active with the downtown Ecumenical Group, and a promoter of our cathedral outreach and cultural programs.



Associate Priests

The Rev. Dr. Julius Rogina

The Rev. John Shoaf 





Senior Warden:  Jim Lamb

Junior Warden:  Terry Cain

Secretary: Cleta Dillard

Members of the Vestry:

            Jeannie Arps

            Howard Bennett

            Lindsay Campbell

            Gary Fuller

            Brandon Harjer

            Carolyn Hoffmann

            Eloy Ituarte

            John Lilley

            Margaret Zuccarini

Treasurer:  David Morgan

Clerk and Legal Advisor:  Kait Flocchini